Just another WordPress.com site

….Do you think I’m overselling this?  You might want to look back and remember this Epic Baking Fail.  Pretty bad right?  I am a get over it and move forward kind of girl {with 4 children plotting against you each night, believe me it’s the only way to be.}  So I ran into the Acme the other day {no I was NOT grocery shopping, the big guy does that, I was renting a movie from Redbox} and thought to myself, I should totally try to do that cinnamon roll recipe again, I mean how could it possibly be any worst than what I already did?  With a sense of fearlessness {some might call it being a glutton for punishment, I like to think otherwise}, I scooped up Acme Rolls {$0.59, I got 4 packs, JIC} and I was on my way home.

I woke up this morning optimistic {I made a cake yesterday and it was GOOOOOD and no I can’t share my BC recipe} so I decided to enlist the troops for a little help.  Also, if this all went south, I could totally blame the little guy, the princess and the destroyer.  Yes, I would totally do that.  If they think it’s OK to throw me under the bus with their father, I can do the same!  Anyway the kids did a great job each doing one and I finished the rest.  Here are the changes I made and one’s I will make the next time:

  1. Put the biscuits in the freezer for 5 minutes b/4 you start.  It really helps with the kids, they are colder and easier to work with.
  2. Use less butter {I know I heart butter too} but you really only need a little bit.  I am thinking this is why our cinnamon and brown sugar keeps escaping from our rolls.
  3. Set the temp at 325 degrees.  My girlfriend Capri {her nickname…everyone has a nickname.  Probably why I am always forgetting real names} said this would really help, IT DID!
  4. Roll the biscuits tight.  I didn’t the first time and this time I made sure they were pretty tight, I think it made a big difference.
  5. Put them back in the fridge for 5 minutes b/4 you cut them.  Easy to cut and move onto greased backing sheet.
  6. Cut them into 4’s.  6 were way to small and they got crispy pretty fast.  4’s stayed nice, soft and gooey.
  7. I turned the pan at 5 minutes and again after another 5 minutes.  I pulled them out after 12 minutes and let rest for 3 {do #8 first} minutes.  So that’s 12 minutes of cooking and 3 minutes of resting, 15 minutes TOTAL.
  8. Put the buns in a bowl and drizzle the topping {1 cup confectioners sugar and 5 tablespoons of heavy cream} and mix carefully.  Let rest 3 minutes.
  9. Give everyone a few on their plate and put the rest away…or else your big guy will come home from picking up a door jamb at Home Dept and the only thing he’ll find is a sink full of dishes.

So glad I decided to give this a second try.  I will absolutely make these again and cut the butter down and see how that works.  have you ever had a recipe that was supposed to be easy and you failed like me?  I’d love to hear about it.  Did you try again?  How did it turn out?  Let me know, it may be one I can add to my list.

TTYL,

Col

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

